Seven minutes…

by redrose416

A friend, upon whose support I rely perhaps more than any other, recently agreed to be an “accountability buddy”-of-sorts…I have found that, of all the things I am lacking in this life, the skill that I need to improve upon perhaps most of all is my ability to finish things.  And my friend has agreed to help hold me to those commitments, so as to help change this thing that I hate about myself, but have had one hell of a time changing on my own. 
And so…
I now have four minutes to finish the blog post that I promised him I would post by midnight.

So I will comment on this one thought, which has dominated all of my other thoughts with respect to the most important thing I think about every day…

(three minutes)

God.  Spirituality.  Christ.  Christians.
There are reportedly BILLIONS of people on this planet who have been confirmed Christians.  It is likely that you are one of them.  And yet, how many of us are full of doubt as to whether God truly touches our lives…as to whether he is working in our world…as to whether miracles actually happen, or are just fairytales for our ancestors…or stories that were put down to give us something to believe in.

I would just like every professed Christian, in this one last minute, to consider one thing…if you call yourself a follower of Christ (which is the definition of what it means to be a Christian), then that means that you actually, really, truly, without doubt believe that a human person was killed, in the most brutal, drawn out, painful and ugly way possible…and then raised HIMSELF back to life.

This is the basis of your entire faith.  This is what you believe.
(taking one extra minute because this is so important).
Just consider the depth of this central, and undeniable, definition of what it is to call oneself Christian.
You believe in this most unbelievable, incomprehensible, seemingly impossible miracle.
Not only was a man brought back from being definitely, beaten-to-a-pulp, poked-full-of-holes dead, but he did it himself.  After being locked in a cave for three days.

Do you still truly believe?  Really, truly? 
If you do, then consider everything else that might be, and HAS to be,

POSSIBLE.

 

Just consider.
🙂

(It seems that it actually takes twelve minutes for me to write a post.  Isn’t 12 a biblical number?…)