Five minutes.

by redrose416

I only have five minutes.
I just wanted to say (because I’m having a hard time with the world and self-image today)…
I have been thinking, today, about when women post pictures of themselves on social media…I almost never see them without makeup, flattering clothes, or without the more rotund or stigmatic parts of their anatomy carefully edited out of the photo.  And why?  I haven’t figured it out entirely…when people comment on your beauty in such a photo, they’re commenting on how well you put paint on your face, or how much they want to get you in bed.  If they really wanted to comment on your beauty, they’d ask for a picture of you in your everyday habitat, no makeup, freshly showered.  I have thought about it quite a bit, and I would be very happy if no one ever commented on how I look, ever again.  What do looks accomplish for us?  Does our beauty make us intelligent?  Does it help us solve problems?  Does it make us able to play an instrument or paint or draw or type or write well?  Does looking good in makeup allow us to teach our children well, or help us to budget our time or finances?  Does it make us better able to grow food, build a house, clothe our family?  Does being beautiful have any genetic link at all to having abilities, talents, spiritual/social/intellectual gifts?
No.

I think, really, that I would be absolutely in utopia if no one ever again commented on how others look…ever…but rather just quested after people who they can’t stop talking to…people who make them laugh all the time, people who are interesting, intelligent, curious, resourceful, helpful…

That would be an amazing world.